View of the house from Oxon Hoath Lake
View from the Dance Studio and southern bedrooms across the Rose
Garden to the Lake.
Acacia Walk leading to the fragrant Meditation Garden
The 14th Century Stable Courtyard, one of the oldest parts of the
in the heart of the West Kent Rural Conservation Area, the ancient
Manor of Oxon Hoath has 73 acres of its own beautiful, tranquil gardens
and parkland and is a joy to explore. The exotic trees and romantic
gardens, sweeping lawns and mysterious woodlands; hidden dells; secret
gardens; courtyards and sculptured lake create the perfect environment
for self-discovery, profound learning and spiritual development.
Oxon Hoath was originally built more than 600 years ago by Sir John
Culpepper, a Knight of King Henry V, as a royal park for the Kingdom's
oxen and deer. Over the centuries the Oxon Hoath Estate has been the
ancestral family home to eleven Knights of the Realm, many of whom
enhanced both the house and the grounds in a fascinating variety of
classical architectural styles. The most recent enhancement was in
1846 when Sir William Geary commissioned the renowned french gothic
revivalist architect Anthony Salvin to build the mansard dome, and
the chateau tower. Sir William, son of Admiral Sir Francis Geary who
was NelsonÕs mentor, also engaged W.A.Nesfield to create the formal
gardens in the style of Capability Brown. The Oxon Hoath gardens are
the only surviving unaltered parterre gardens in England today.
Oxon Hoath remains in family ownership today and is preserved as an
enchanting and historic country estate of the most exquisite beauty.